CCA Housing 2009

Friedrichstrasse Apts.-OMA/ Rem Koolhaas

Posted in Uncategorized by vkwok on February 22, 2009

oma_for-blog1

The Friedrichstrasse apartments in Berlin are related to its historic site near Checkpoint Charlie and the old dividing line between the East and the West of the former Berlin Wall.  The arrangement of apartments and the spaces are directly related to its historic background through its load-bearing walls that span from East to West and rest on columns on the lower floor.  On the West side of the building lies roof top gardens and a series of terraces while the East facade facing the street is a straight black facade with windows and slight variations and materials in the facade.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Laura said, on March 16, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Hello,
    We are french students and we have to make a short presentation about this building. Unfortunatly, we haven’t found any interestings documents and drawings about it.
    Could you tell us from which book have you extract this informations or better could you send us the pdf of this document please? Thanks a lot for your help, we hope that you could answer us soon!

    • vkwok said, on March 21, 2010 at 6:31 am

      Hi. I hope this is not too late. i sent an email out with a few images and the name of the book I got the information from to the email address above. I hope this helps. good luck on your project

      • Gunner said, on June 20, 2011 at 4:21 pm

        Hello, I’m an italian student…I’m searching some drawing about this work but I haven’t found anything interesting about this.
        Someone can tell me where I can find some drawing please????

        Thanks a lot!

  2. Sarah said, on January 13, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Hi, I’ve got the same problem as the others: I don’t find any relevant information about this building, even when searching through databases and stuff. Could anyone tell me where I can find some good information, plans and photo’s.. ? I really need it for an exam replacing paperworkkindathing 🙂 HELP !

  3. paulita132 said, on March 2, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    Hi, we have to do a presentation about this building. Could you tell me where we can find more information? thanks!

  4. jean said, on October 3, 2012 at 7:02 am

    hi, i’m a french student and it seems that i’ve got the same problem that the other. If someone as drawings on it please send it me .


Leave a comment